辦學特色

(一)提供完整的教育專業基礎課程

詳細規劃本所各領域之系列專業基礎課程,讓每位學生能夠循序漸進學習,獲得其修讀領域紮實的專業知識與技能。各科教學均設立了極為嚴格的要求,以閱讀第一手學術性資料及獨立研究為必要條件,自96學年度起,本所亦逐步設立各學域之經典學術論文資料庫,要求學生在修業年限中讀完指定的篇數並撰寫心得。

 

(二)強調嚴謹的方法學訓練

要求每位學生修讀數種教育研究法課程,兼顧質化與量化的研究方法訓練,並依據不同的專業領域設計更深入的論文研討課程,以加強學生進行研究的能力。

 

(三)落實理論與實務的結合

提供理論與實務結合的課程,這些課程以教育學理為基礎,並參酌我國教育環境的實況,將教育學理與教育實務整合,研擬學術研究的議題與實務推展的方向。本所積極與鄰近地區學校合作,由本所教師訓練學生、領導教育學程學生,系統性的創造弱勢學生參與科學學習社團機會、接受學習輔導、補救教學等服務,提供理論與實務結合的機會。

 

(四)具備專業的師資陣容

本所師資陣容多元且均具備博士學位,有深厚的專業知識與素養,並致力於創新的教學與前瞻的研究。現有專任教師 名,其中正教授四名、副教授兩名、助理教授三名,並視需要聘請兼任教師,經常性聘有一至三名博士後研究員協助學生學習。

 

(五)提供精緻化的教學輔導

本所教師及學生人數不多,空間設備完全,教師均具有專業奉獻之精神,經常以多元方式,如面談、討論、電子郵件等,提供學生經常性、全方位、個別化的學術指導與生活輔導,激發學生的學習動機,培養學生反省思考、創新改革、及問題解決的能力,畢業生也經常與老師、學弟妹、職員聯繫,老師持續提供生涯發展建議。本所設有導師制度,舉辦迎新、節慶活動,來增進師生交流機會,學校亦要求導師對學生的住宿、生活、安全定期輔導。

 

(六)鼓勵實習與學術社群活動的參與

為使學生具備實務的能力及深廣的學術見解與視野,輔導學生從事教育相關實務的實習,並鼓勵學生積極參與國內外學術社群之活動。

 

(七)空間設備完善

本所的空間規劃非常用心,教學、研究、行政、學生區域巧妙分隔,井然有序。布置有「教育家畫像」、名家教育格言於走廊,發揮潛在課程,激發學生見賢思齊,內化獻身教育的熱忱。中英文專業圖書及是英文電子全文期刊種類非常豐富,全校性eCampus網路教學平台成為師生專業及生活討論的虛擬空間。

(Visited 214 times, 1 visits today)

Outreach

(a)Offering fundamenta and multi-disciplinary education

The multi-disciplinary fundamental curriculum is mapped elaborately to lead students learn step-by-step and subsquently obtain the solid professional knowledge and skills. Each course includes rigid  requirements on students, and reading primary academic literature and conduct independent research are also necessary. The IED has progressively constructed databases of key literature for every Divisions, and asks students to finish considerable amount  of readings along with reflection journalsduring the years of study since 96 school year.

(b)Emphasizing on methodological training

The IED requires each student to take various Educational Research Methods classes to be capable of conducting qualitative and quantitative research methods. We also designs advanced thesis study courses in accordance with different professional field to improve students’ competency of conducting research.

(c)Integration between theory and practice

The IED offers courses concerted with theory and practice. These courses are based on education theory, and integrate theory with practice with regard to the context of educationin Taiwan. The counseling division has its focus on long-term internship to improve practical skills, and other divisions also cooperates actively with K-12 schools nearby. IED faculty train and lead students of IED and CTE to systematically create opportunities of participating science technology organization for disadvantaged students, and they can also receive services such as academic counseling and remedial instruction. In this way, we offer opportunities of collaborating with theory and practice.

(d)Professional faculty

The IED consists of multi-disciplinary faculty with Ph.D. degrees and profound professional knowledge and literacy. They devote themselves to innovative instruction and research. There are ten full time faculty members including four professors, fourtwo associate professors and twohree assistant professors. We employ adjunct faculty as required, as well as one to three Post-doc Research Fellows who assist students in learning.

(e)Elaborating Instruction

Although this is a small-size institute, the IED offers well-equipped space. The faculty of IED are all devoted themselves to their professional domain, and make use of multiple ways such as meeting, discussion and e-mail to offer constant, holistic, personal academic guide and daily-life guidance to students. In this way, it can inspire students’ motivation of learning, develop students’ competency of reflecting, innovative revoluting and problem-solving. The master and doctoral alumni regularly keep in touch with faculty, staff, and fellow students. Faculty constantly give students suggestions on career development. The IED adopts preceptor system, and we hold new student orientation, festival activities to boost the interaction between teachers and students. Furthermore, the university requires that preceptors should give students guidance of housing, living and safety regularly.

(f)Encouraging students to seek internship and participate in academic activities

In order to develop students on practical skills and advanced academic understanding, we give guidance of related internship opportunities and encourage them to participate in activities of academic communities both domestically and overseas.

(g)Well-equipped space

The IED makes efforts on space planning, and it is well-designed to allocate the space of instruction, research, administration and students from each other appropriately. Outstanding educators portraits and idioms are displayed on the corridor wall to elicit hidden curriculum and inspire students enthusiasm about devoting themselves to education and emulate themselves on those educators. There are plenty of professional books and journals in Chinese and English, and schoolwide e-learning system. eCampus is the virtual space for teachers and students to have discussions about life and profession.

(Visited 214 times, 1 visits today)